August 4th, 2018
Chemung Welcomes All-Stars, Past and Present, on Special Night
by Carol Houssock

 It was years in the making and it took Betty Sherwood, President of the Spalding Foundation for Injured Drivers to make it happen. It was a reunion of drivers from both Chemung Speedrome and Shangri-la Speedway on a night when two of the four races were run in memory of the late Rod Spalding and the late Ed McGuire. The Race of Champions Modified series held the 75-lap Rod Spalding Memorial and their Super Stock division ran a special 51-lap race in memory of McGuire.

  But as fans entered the facility what they first encountered was a gathering of nearly 70 former drivers, car owners and officials. Some knew of each other but had never met, while others reunited with folks they hadn’t seen in years. Several former racers traveled north from their homes in North Carolina or other parts south. All three of the Bodine brothers (Geoff, Brett and Todd) were there at the facility begun many years ago by their late father as a place to run cars on dirt. The facility is now state-of-the-art and in many ways a tribute to what Eli Bodine began.

  As fans took their seats they saw current stars set to do battle. The 75-lap RoC Modified event boiled down to classic Matt Hirschman, who drew the worst number (12) in the redraw but who methodically worked his way to the front. Andy Jankowiak was also impressive in his run that brought him to second but no further. It was a tough night for TJ Potrzebowski, Tyler Rypkema and both Timmy and Tommy Catalano who collided on the front stretch at speed. When this one was over Hirschman had the win with Jankowiak second and Daryl Lewis, Jr. third.

  Joe Mancuso, whose luck has never been that great at Chemung, inherited the lead in the 51-lap RoC Super Stock race when leader Tim Gullo had to pit to change a flat right front tire. Mancuso took full advantage of that inheritance and he cruised to victory. Behind him, Jason Duke had a great run but lost second at the stripe to a hard-charging Charlie Sharpsteen.

  Daniel Carter is having a dream season at Chemung and his win in the 20-lap INEX Legends race represented his third win at the track this year. This time he held off Teddy Bowen and Chuck Lohmeyer, both of whom threatened but never could get around or underneath the stout #83. Bowen and Lohmeyer held on to finish behind Carter.

  Garrett Zacharias earned another sweep in the Bandolero division while Jeffrey Noe was best of those racing in the Bandit division. Victory lane is old hat for Zacharias, but for Noe it was a huge and emotional moment to the delight of the crowd.

  This Saturday Chemung will again focus on its regular stars in the Sunoco Modifieds, Super Stocks and the 4 Cylinders under the NASCAR sanction. Pits open at 4 PM, with practice at 5 PM and opening ceremonies at 6 PM. Admission is $13 for adults, $11 for seniors, $5 for kids 6-12, and free for kids 5 and under.

  For more information, log on to or “like” us on Facebook (Chemung Speedrome – Racing at the Drome). Chemung Speedrome and NASCAR, Asphalt Racing at its Finest!


  RoC Modified Tour
(75 Laps): MATT HIRSCHMAN, Andy Jankowiak, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Chuck Hossfeld, Eric Beers, JR Kent, Mike Leaty, George Skora III, Roger Coss, Jack Ely, Bryan Sherwood, Zack Knowlden, Brian Defebo, Patrick Emerling, Alan Bookmiller, Daren Scherer, Austin Kochenash, Karl Hehr, Danny Knoll, Jr., Tommy Catalano, TJ Potrzebowski, Tyler Rypkema, Timmy Catalano, Kyle Ebersole, Amy Catalano, Tommy Rought
  Heats: Hossfeld, Coss, Lewis, Hirschman

  RoC Super Stocks
(51 Laps): JOE MANCUSO, Charlie Sharpsteen, Jason Duke, Tim Gullo, Tommy Barron, Terry Potrzebowski, Frank Chapman, Brock Brown, Dana Novoa, JP Harbst, Tom Krawcyzk, RJ Zacharias, Jason Duke, Jr., Vern Hedderick, Derrick Tarbox, Chuck Anderson
  Heats: Gullo, Barron
  First car out ($50 from TDH Refrigeration): Anderson
  Hard Charger ($100 from Randy Davenport): Duke
  Best Appearing Car ($100 in memory of Ed McGuire from Randy Davenport): Gullo
  Hard Luck (goodie basket from Amerifast Supply and $50 from Jilson Racing): Gullo

(20 Laps): DANIEL CARTER, Teddy Bowen, Chuck Lohmeyer, Brian Schoch, Beth Scherer, James Anderson, Charlie Lohmeyer, Brian Demark, Gary Ham
  Heats: Bowen, Charlie Lohmeyer

(10 Laps): GARRETT ZACHARIAS, Josh Duke, Jeffrey Noe (Bandit winner), Evan Rygielski, Bryce Bailey
  Heat: G. Zacharias



©2010-2018 Chemung Speedrome / RGeePro


Contact Track Owner
John White
(631) 745-9805
Summer Office
(607) 529-9998

Winter Office
(631) 722-3800