August 23rd, 2013
Chemung Speedrome Welcomes Big 10 Super Stock Series
By: Ray Hodge

  A great night of racing was capped off by the first ever appearance by the Big Ten Super Stock Series at the Speedrome. With a large amount of lap sponsorship money on the line, 28 Super Stocks were on hand to get their share of the lap money put up by many individuals and businesses. Series director Larry Woodruff said this was the best car count the series has seen this year. The field was set by 3 heat races that saw the 09 of Mike Ramos, Series point leader Lee Sharpsteen and the 64 of Joe Mancuso picking up the heat victories.

  With well over 1500 hundred fans in attendance, the night started out with David French picking up his ninth win of the season over Nick Morich and Teddy Bowen in the INEX Bandolero division. David French is the point leader heading in to the final week of the season.
The four cylinder division saw 3 time feature winners Marcus Wood and Nick Morich fight hard to hang on for a fourth and fifth place finish respectively. Chemung’s Jeremiah Claunch picked up the win followed by Devon Bailey and Eric Ellsworth. Nick Morich is the point leader over Marcus Wood and Amber Pierce heading into the final week.

  INEX Legends points leader Mike Alcaro continued his dominance at the Speedrome as he picked up his seventh win of the season and added to his point lead over Anthony Riforgiato and Chuck Lohmeyer. Todd McCollum came home second followed by Julia Landauer, Alex Bowen and Gary Ham.

  The Dirt Track Crate Sportsman put on a great show for the fans as James Howard picked up the win over point leader Paul Jenkins. Amber Pierce finished third as she tries to catch Jenkins for the track title next Friday Night. Chris Clemens gets the win in the open motor division.

  The Sunoco Modifieds were up next with a strong 20 car field. 8 cautions dominated this race that saw several different leaders. TJ Zacharias led the way from the start, Contact early with Tony Hanbury would send the two cars to the rear of the field giving way to Jody Buckley. Some great racing saw a lot of side by side battles for the first six positions the entire race. Zack Curren had another great run after coming from the rear after contact sent him to the pits for repairs on lap 7. Curren would end up fourth on the night. Elmira’s TJ Potrzebowski took over the top spot and lead on lap 20 and held the top spot with point leader Jimmy Zacharias following in his tire tracks. After several more cautions, Zacharias fresh off his tenth place finish in the Whalen Modified race at Bristol on Wednesday would take the lead on lap 31 and never look back. For Jimmy, this would be win number 7 on the season and would help pad his point lead over second place Tony Hanbury who would come home fifth on the night. TJ Potrezbowski would finish a strong second followed by Jody Buckley, Zack Curren and Tony Hanbury.

  Then the Big Ten Super Stocks brought their 24 car feature to the speedway. Elmira’s Mike Nichols would start from the pole after the redraw and would never look back. After an almost perfect start, these guys put on a show for the fans that would be hard to beat. Some good hard racing up front saw series point leader Lee Sharpsteen battle side by side with Nichols for many laps. The 31 of Jason Dieter was also very strong as he and the 21 of Tommy Markham battled hard for a top five spot. Tim Gullo also battled hard with the 64 of Joe Mancuso and the 14 of Jake Snell with a very strong car. After running caution free for the first 9 laps, the caution would fly. The restart saw the battle between Sharpsteen and Nichols heat up as the two would again run side by side. With several spins bringing out the caution, time was running out as the Speedrome is under a very strict curfew. With the curfew close, Series Director Larry Woodruff informed the drivers via the one way radio that the lap 21 restart would be the last shot to finish the race. After the restart, a spin in turn four on lap 23 between would bring out the final caution and the race would be called final at that point. Mike Nichols would be awarded the win followed by the 31 of Jason Dieter in second, Mike Ramos would come home third followed by Lee Sharpsteen, Tim Gullo and Joe Snell.
All in all it was a great night of racing. The curfew put a bad spin on the end of the race said track owner John White who said they ran it as long as possible. The choice to run the Super Stocks last was made early and a lot of circumstances led to the late start and having to call the race early.

  A very Special thanks to Larry Woodruff and Joe Mancuso for bringing the series to Chemung. Also Joe Snell and Lee Sharpsteen for all of the work they did to bring all of the lap sponsorship money to the race that in turn brought 28 Super Stocks to the Speedrome for what was an amazing night.

  Next Friday is the season finale at the Drome. Jeff Goodwin will be looking to wrap up his fourth track title in the Super Stocks, and twin 25 lap features for the Sunoco Modifieds will decide the championship between Jimmy Zacharias and Tony Hanbury.

  Chemung Speedrome is located off Route 17 (new I-86) exit 59. Set GPS for zip 14825. Point standings, schedules, and other information is available on our web site Adult admission is $12, seniors 65+ $10, 6-12 years $5. 5 and under FREE. Race day phone number is (607) 529-9998. Race time is 7:15 p.m. every Friday night.



©2010-2013 Chemung Speedrome


Contact Track Owner
John White
Bob Stapleton