July 26th, 2013
Zacharias pads his point lead with win,
Potzrebowski picks up a popular win for car owner John Lane

By: Ray Hodge

  Great weather opened the gates for a great night of racing this week. In front of one of the biggest crowds of the season, Jimmy Zacharias started 9th and made his way to the front quickly to pick up a dominating win Friday night. The best battle of the race was for second as Zack Curren fought hard to hold off Tony Hanbury, JR Kent and TJ Zacharias. Hanbury and Curren swapped the second position several times with Kent running a very close third. TJ Potrzebowski also in the mix until contact between himself and JR Kent would leave TJ with a 6th place finish. TJ Zacharias started up front but spun early in the race and would come back with a strong 5th place finish.

  The Super Stocks put on a great show with Oswego winner Lee Sharpsteen taking the top spot early and it looked as if he would run away with the victory. Terry Potrzebowski and Jeff Goodwin battled hard for the second spot as Sharpsteen pulled away. At the half way point of the race, Sharpsteen slowed just enough for Potrzebowski to catch him, with the right front brake rotor glowing red, Sharpsteen would give up the lead to a very fast Terry Potrzebowski who never looked back and picked up the win for car owner John Lane. After the race Sharpteen said the right front brake rotor locked up and he did the best he could to hold on for 3rd. Point leader Jeff Goodwin would come home 2nd followed by Sharpsteen, Brittany Jack and a strong run for Joe Snell who finished 5th.

  A scary lap 1 crash in the INEX legends race brought out the red flag quickly. As the cars took the green flag heading into turn one, a group of cars including Tony Hanbury, Austin Berry, Aidan Landauer , Andrew Bickford and Larry Faucett all jammed up in turn one sending the 19 of Larry Faucett hard into the turn one wall. Hanbury, Berry and Landauer were down along the inside wall and the cars had to pulled apart. Hanbury and Berry were able to drive away but Landauer was not so lucky as his car would be towed to the pits and he would not be able to return. His first time on the Chemung speedrome this season, Larry Faucett took a very hard hit into the turn one wall and the car suffered significant front end damage. Larry would be okay but not able to finish the race. After the restart Mike Alcaro wasted no time getting to the front and went on to win the 20 lap feature followed by Chuck Lohmeyer, Kevin Yeatts with an impressive 3rd place run in his first time at Chemung, Austin Berry came home 4th and Gary Ham with a strong 5th place finish.

  In a growing 4 Cylinder class, Marcus wood continued his winning ways as he picked up his third victory of the season. With a good side by side battle for several laps between Wood and point leader Nick Morich, Wood took the lead for good on lap 6 and never looked back. Amber Pierce would come home with a strong 3rd place finish followed by Allen English, Monica Green and Randy Mathews. This class is growing and will continue to grow as these guys and girls put on a great show for the crowd.

  The Dirt Crate Sportsman cars always fun to watch ran a 10 lap feature that consisted of Mike McKerrell, Paul Jenkins and Allison Pierce. McKerrell would pick up the win in the open motor class and Paul Jenkins would pick up the crate class. Allison Pierce, the only Crate driver to run all of the races in 2013 continues to improve every week.

And last but not least, the INEX Bandoleros ran an 8 lap feature to start the show. Lars McElravy would start on the pole with Nick Morich starting outside. David French would start 3rd and make a strong run to the front on lap 2 and never looked back. Nick Morich would come home 2nd with McElravy finishing in third. A very well spoken David French visited victory lane for the 7th time this season where he said he is just having fun. After taking a victory lap around the Speedrome, David got out of his car and thanked all of his sponsors and all of the fans who come to support these racers every week.

Next Friday Night August 2nd, will be fan appreciation night. All fans in attendance will have the chance to meet your favorite drivers during intermission. MoJo Photos has provided many pictures for Drivers to sign for the fans that want them. Also this and every Friday Night, bring your ticket stub from the prior week and receive $2.00 off admission.

July 26th RESULTS:

Sunoco Modifieds
Jimmy Zacharias, Zack Curren, Tony Hanbury, J.R. Kent, T.J. Zacharias, T.J. Potrzebowski, Jody Buckley, Jason Duke, Mike Odwazny, Bob Mosher, Frank Morich, Tommy Rought, Matt Clemens, Corey Mosher, Randy Brokaw, Chris Clemens, Nick White



2010-2013 Chemung Speedrome


Contact Track Owner
John White
Bob Stapleton