July 5th, 2013
Hanbury and Smith visit Chemung’s Victory Lane
By: John Flock

  Twin twenty lap NASCAR Sunoco Modified features highlighted the start of July racing at Chemung Speedrome. Speedway regular Tony Hanbury captured the first feature after a spirited battle with Zack Curren, T.J. Potrzebowski and Jody Buckley. Only two quick cautions for simple spins slowed the action in the heated battle. Hanbury drew number six for the inversion to set the second main.

In feature number two, Jimmy Zacharias and a visiting Rusty Smith put on an exhibition of side by side racing at its’ best. The two hard chargers swapped the lead several times in the first ten laps. Smith eventually took command and went on to victory. Spencer Speedway rained out earlier in the afternoon, turning Rusty’s team around and heading to Chemung. That turned out to be a good decision. The top half of the field ran in tight formation, each driver scratching for each position. J.R. Kent and T.J. Zacharias fought the same battle in both features, earning sixth and seventh place finishes.

In Super Stock action, Jason Duke led the first third of the 25 lap feature. Pressure from Jeff Goodwin kept the lead in doubt. Goodwin got a good run on the number 13 of Duke in lap eight. As the multi-time feature winner Goodwin passed Duke, up jumped Lee Sharpsteen to pass both competitors. Sharpsteen would build a small lead over the battling trio of Goodwin, Duke, and Brittany Jack. Terry Potrzebowski, Joe Lane, Nick Robinson, and Trevor Williams filled out the field in a very quick feature.

Marcus Wood repeated as victor in the 4-Cylinder Stock feature. Rookie Amber Pierce applied pressure with outside lane passing attempts but had to settle for second. Bandolero racer Nick Morich raced home third ahead of Monica Green. Three of the dirt track Crate Sportsman racers took to the track, with Chuck Potts pass early leader Chris Clemens for the victory. Open wheel rookie Allison Pierce is starting to get more comfortable in her Sportsman as she continues to drive a dirt track Street Stock on Saturday nights. INEX Legends showed with 15 racers for their evening’s events. Brandon DeBrakeleer shook off some bad luck and dominated his feature event. Aiden Landover ran a strong second place but could never pose a threat to the high-flying DeBrakeleer. The best battle was for third position as Raven Schrantz bested the determined runs of Tony Hanbury and Antony Riforgiato. INEX Bandolero racer David French won his fifth feature of the season over Nick Morich.

The Atlantic Coast Old Timers brought five magnificent antique racing machines to the speedway. Bruce Carman paced the field with his authentic roadster. An asphalt sprint car, two midgets, and one TQ midget followed Carmen to the finish. Friend Dave McComber brought his black #27 midget, but ran into problems before their event. Dave grew up with Harry Peek, thus carried Harry’s number on his midget.

A full card of NASCAR racing this week will be joined by the Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club. Many original and faithful copies of the old coupes and coaches of the 1950’s and 1960’s will race again around the Chemung Speedrome.

July 5th RESULTS:

Sunoco Modifieds – 1st 20 lap feature – 16 cars
TONY HANBURY, Zack Curren, T.J. Potrzebowski, Jody Buckley, Jimmy Zacharias, Rusty Smith, J.R. Kent, T.J. Zacharias, Frank Morich, Bob Mosher, Mike Odwazny, Tom Rought, Matt Clemens, Corey Mosher, Randy Brokaw, Chris Clemens. Lap leaders: Zach Curren (8 laps), Tony Hanbury (12 laps).
Heats: T.J. Zacharias, Zack Curren

Sunoco Modifieds – 2nd 20 lap feature – 16 cars.
Blind draw inverted 6 cars from first feature.
RUSTY SMITH, Jimmy Zacharias, Jody Buckley, T.J. Potrzebowski, Zack Curren, Tony Hanbury, J.R. Kent, T.J. Zacharias, Mike Odwazny, Tom Rought, Bob Moser, Matt Clemens, Frank Morich Corey Kosher, Randy Brokaw, Chris Clemens. Lap Leaders: Jimmy Zacharias (4 laps), Rusty Smith (16 laps).

SUPER STOCKS – 25 LAPS – 8 cars
LEE SHAARPSTEEN, Jeff Goodwin, Jason Duke, Brittany Jack, Terry Potrzebowski, Joe Lane, Nick Robinson, Trevor Williams. Lap Leaders: Jason Duke (7 laps), Lee Sharpsteen (18 laps).
Heats: Jason Duke and Lee Sharpsteen

4-Cylinder Stocks – 8 lap feature – 4 cars.
MARCUS WOOD, Amber Pierce, Nick Morich, Monica Green. Lap leaders: Amber Pierce (3 laps), Nick Morich (1 lap), Marcus Wood (4 laps).

INEX Bandoleros – 10 lap feature – 2 cars.
DAVID FRENCH, Nick Morich. No heat, David French led all 10 laps.

INEX Legends – 20 lap feature – 15 Cars – Feature finish pending tech ruling from INEX.
BRANDON DeBrakeleer, Aiden Landover, Raven Schrantz, Tony Hanbury, Antony Riforgiato, Gary Ham, Tyler Doxtater Chuck Lohmeyer, Brad Salatino, Alexandria Smith, Josh Marchese, Charlie Lohmeyer, Chuck Marchese, Mike Alcaro, Julia Landover (DNS). Lap leader (20 laps) Brandon DeBrakeleer.
Heats: Brandon DeBrakeleer, Raven Schrantz.

Dirt Track Crate Sportsman – 15 laps – 3 cars
CHUCK POTTS, Chris Clemens, Allison Pierce. Lap leaders: Chris Clemens (2 laps), Chuck Potts (13 laps)
Heat winner – Chris Clemens



©2010-2013 Chemung Speedrome


Contact Track Owner
John White
Bob Stapleton