June 22nd, 2013
Jimmy Zacharias And J.R. Kent Earn Chemung Gold
By: John Flock

  Twin 25 lap Sunoco Modified features highlighted the card at Chemung Speedrome. Starting from his fourth starting position, Jimmy Zacharias put on a speedy show, leading most of the feature event. Jody Buckley chased hard, but no one was to catch Jimmy Z. By the midpoint of the race, a quick Rusty Smith held off Tony Hanbury and J.R. Kent to the finish. As Jimmy sailed off to victory lane, the top half of the field put on a hard-nosed charge to the front. T.J. Zacharias, Zach Curren, and Tyler Rypkema were fighting for every inch to the checkers. Eleven of the sixteen starters finished the race.

  In the second Sunoco Modified main, T.J. Zacharias and J.R. Kent started in the front row. In the first dozen laps, T.J. Zach would dog J.R. Kent’s efforts as they waged a torrid side by side battle. A rash of cautions broke the pace of the race on lap 15. When the final green flew, contact and chrome horns prevailed. J.R. would hold the lead to the checkers, with Rusty Smith moving from sixth to second over the last few laps. Jody Buckley moved from fifth to third. Zack Curren and Tyler Rypkema benefited to move into the top five. T.J. Zacharias, Jimmy Zacharias, and Tony Hanbury had their patience tested. Sixteen starters started the battle, with nine survivors completing the entire distance.

  NASCAR Super Stocks put on a one caution feature event. Joe Lane led the first dozen laps, but one small slip allowed the freight train to get by. After a battle of feature winners, Jeff Goodwin would get the victory. Brittany Jack raced into second in the last three laps to hold off Terry Potrzebowski, Jason Duke, and Joe Lane. Newcomer Nick Robinson would finish sixth on his first run at Chemung.

  The 4-Cylinder Stocks enjoyed three new entrants to the division. Marcus Wood earned checkers in both the heat and feature. Amber Pierce, on her first asphalt attempt, would pester Mr. Wood to the checkers. Point leader Nick Morich would finish third. Another new competitor, Monica Green joined the fun, finishing fourth in her first attempt. Amber’s twin sister, Allison, races in the Crate Sportsman division.

  INEX Bandoleros saw David French defend his winning streak. Nick Morich has improved his speed in dramatic fashion, pressuring the leader for the victory. Lars McElravy in just his second attempt at Chemung Speedrome competition produced a competitive third place finish. Two new drivers joined the INEX Legends this week, Mitchell Dowd and Aidan Landover. Both had solid runs to place fifth and sixth in the feature. Mike Alcaro, many time feature winner, fought from the back of the pack to earn second position. By lap five, Mike had worked his way to the top five spots. Two laps later, Alcaro was running second as a caution flew. Even with half of the feature to go, Alcaro could not pass the new race winner, Brandon DeBrakeleer. Tony Hanbury and Antony Riforgiato earned top 4 finishes.

  The dirt track Crate Sportsman drew one new entrant, Chris Clemens. Casey Pavlick won the war over Clemens, holding off several challenges from Clemens. Paul Jenkins and Allison Pierce finished out the field. The C&S Engraving $100 bonus to beat Casey Pavlick carries forward for next event when Casey is racing. Casey is moving into a new home and cannot make every race. He still seeks another championship trophy, but that new home and family obligations come first.

  McGruff the crime dog was on hand to present some new bicycles and even more bicycle helmets to the kids on hand. The Chemung County Corrections Officers were honored on their night. Next week, the Friday June 28th program will feature the annual visit of the NYPA Midget Club. The classy Ύ midgets will set some quick times on Chemung’s oval. In addition, all Speedrome classes will compete for double points. There will be no increase in admission for this event.

  Chemung Speedrome is located off Route 17 (new I-86) exit 59. Set GPS for zip 14825. Further information is available on our web site www.ChemungSpeedrome.Net. Race day phone number is (607) 529-9998. Race time is 7:15 p.m. every Friday night.

June 21st RESULTS:

NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds – Feature #1 – 16 cars - JIMMY ZACHARIAS, Jody Buckley, Rusty Smith, Tony Hanbury, J.R. Kent, T.J. Zacharias, Zach Curren, Tyler Rypkema, Mike Odwazny, Frank Morich, Tim Lewis Jr., Bob Mosher, Matt Clemens, Corey Mosher, Tom Rought, and Randy Brokaw.

NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds – Feature #2 – 16 cars - J.R. Kent, Rusty Smith, Jody Buckley, Zach Curren, Tyler Rypkema, T.J. Zacharias, Jimmy Zacharias, Tony Hanbury, Mike Odwazny, Bob Mosher, Frank Morich, Tom Rought, Tim Lewis, Jr., Matt Clemens, Corey Mosher, and Randy Brokaw.
Heats – Jimmy Zacharias and Jody Buckley

NASCAR Super Stocks – Feature – 8 cars - JEFF GOODWIN, Brittany Jack, Terry Potrzebowski, Jason Duke, Joe Lane, Nick Robinson, Bob Ripley, Jr., and Trevor Williams.
Heats – Jeff Goodwin and Jason Duke

NASCAR 4-Cylinder Stocks – Feature - 4 cars – MARCUS WOOD, Amber Pierce, Nick Morich, and Monica Green.
Heat – Marcus Wood

INEX Bandoleros – Feature - 4 cars – David French, Nick Morich, Lars McElravy, Alexandria Smith (DNS).
(Feature only)

INEX Legends – 15 cars – BRANDON DeBRAKELEER, Mike Alcaro, Tony Hanbury, Antony Riforgiato, Mitchell Dowd, Aidan Landover, Alex Bowen, Gary Ham, Alexandria Smith, Andrew Bickford, Chuck Lohmeyer, Jason Townsend, Charlie Lohmeyer, Wayne Walker. Austin Berry (DNS).
Heats – Mike Alcaro and Brandon DeBrakeleer

Dirt Track Crate Sportsman – 4 Cars – CASEY PAVLICK, Chris Clemens, Paul Jenkins, Allison Pierce.
Heat – Casey Pavlick

C&S Engraving bonus to beat Pavlick - $100 – carries forward for next event when Casey is racing.



©2010-2013 Chemung Speedrome


Contact Track Owner
John White
Bob Stapleton