May 19th, 2013
Jimmy Zach Wins At The Speedrome
By: John Flock

  After a week’s delay for rain, the skies shone brightly on Chemung Speedrome. In the headline NASCAR Sunoco Modified division, Jimmy Zacharias took an early lead from his third starting position. Dan Kurzejewski, battling hard with Jimmy Z in the first half of the event, then lost a battle with Tony Hanbury for the runner-up spot. Kurzejewski would chase Hanbury to the checkers to earn third place laurels. A late arriving J.R. Kent rushed to get to his sixth place starting position. J.R. had the best seat to watch the close battle between Hanbury and Kurzejewski. J.R. would start sixth, eventually working his way to a solid fourth place effort. Zack Curren would complete the top five finishers in a solid effort. Defending champion T.J. Zacharias, restarting the back after an early race spin, would finish sixth on this evening. Frank Morich and Randy Brokaw made their initial starts at the Speedrome. Fan favorite Jody Buckley ran into mechanical problems in his qualifying event and had to sit out the feature.

  The Sunoco Modifieds are the primary class. Support divisions at Chemung Speedrome carry their own brand of racing excitement. With the “Big 10” Tour inaugural event at Spencer Speedway, the Super Stocks ran with a short field. Mike Nichols had some problems in the qualifying event, but those ills were cured come feature time. Jeff Goodwin won his second Super Stock feature of the season. The challengers kept Jeff on his toes as Goodwin fought his way to the front. Brittney Jack, Mike Nichols, Tim Gullo and John Lane earned top five results. New driver Trevor Williams did well in his first outing and earning sixth. Joe Lane’s machine developed some mechanical issues and lost a couple of laps, but he returned to the race picked up seventh place. Reports say that Spencer Speedway drew 22 entrants for their tour event.

  INEX action found David French in a familiar position, leading the Bandolero cars to another feature victory. In the Legends division, Mike Alcaro added to his win total after winning the first heat race and leading the entire feature event. Mike was challenged the entire distance by second heat winner Raven Schrantz. The top half of the field ran in close quarters, changing positions every lap. After Mike Alcaro and Raven Schrantz, Austin Berry, Tony Hanbury and Zack Truesdale earned top five finishes. In the new 4-Cylinder Stock division, Bandolero racer Nick Morich brought out his new 4-Cylinder car and ran a few laps for the fans. His Bandolero and 4-Cylinder Stock share the same number and paint scheme. Nick is part of a busy team and races in two divisions. Nick’s father Frank brought out his Sunoco Modified for the first time. The Crate Sportsman ran a quick feature with defending Casey Pavlick winning over a spirited new racer, Paul Jenkins. They ran side-by-side until the last two laps when Pavlick pulled away for a five car lead at the checkers.

  Chemung Speedrome kicks off the Memorial Day weekend with a full program this Friday evening, May 24th. The Sunoco Modifieds (40 laps), Super Stocks (25), 4 Cylinders (20), INEX Legends (Twin 15's), Bandoleros (8), and the Dirt Track Crate Sportsman (20) are all a part of the racing excitement. The pit gates open at 4:00 p.m., practice begins at 6:00 p.m., and the racing starts promptly at 7:15 p.m. Support divisions include the Super Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks, INEX Legends, INEX Bandoleros, and the dirt track Crate Sportsman cars. Weekly NASCAR sanctioned racing will continue on Friday evenings throughout the 2013 season. The track is located at 605 Wyncoop Creek Road, just off exit 59 on I-86 (old US 17). For further information, see our web site at

NASCAR Sunoco Modifieds - Jimmy Zacharias, Tony Hanbury, Dan Kurzejewski, J.R. Kent, Zack Curren, T.J. Zacharias, Brittney Jack, Matt Clemens, Mike Odwazny, Frank Morich, Randy Brokaw, Bob Mosier. DNS - Jody Buckley.

NASCAR Super Stocks - Jeff Goodwin, Brittney Jack, Mike Nichols, Tim Gullo, John Lane, Trevor Williams, Joe Lane.

NASCAR 4 Cylinder Stocks - Nick Morich.

Dirt Crate Sportsman - Casey Pavlick, Paul Jenkins.

INEX Legends - Mike Alcaro, Raven Schrantz, Austin Berry, Tony Hanbury, Zack Truesdale, Alex Bowen, Chuck Lohmeyer, Owen Bednosz, Antony Riforgiato, Kyle Dealanan, Andrew Bickford, Charlie Lohmeyer, Wayne Walker. DNS – A.J. Griffin.

INEX Bandoleros - David French, Nick Morich.



©2010-2013 Chemung Speedrome


Contact Track Owner
John White
Bob Stapleton