Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2012 News

November 25th, 2012
Chemung Speedrome Bookends 2012 Racing Season At Awards Banquet and Dinner
By: Brock Moore

Race teams and fans of Chemung Speedrome partied Saturday night at the Athens Township Volunteer Fire Company and honored the top competitors from the 2012 racing season. While mother nature claimed her share of the races, the Speedrome did have a good season that was recapped at the uplifting banquet. Following a cocktail hour and buffet dinner, drivers in attendance claimed some handsome hardware and offered up some light-hearted moments. Attendees then enjoyed music for dancing. Track announcer Ray Hodge emceed the event.

 The Sunoco Modifieds headlined the divisions that competed at the speedway this season. Jimmy Zacharias earned 6 wins but came up short in the championship race as his brother T.J. Zacharias won the championship by an 8 point margin. Jimmy Zacharias finished 2nd with Matt Clemens, Mike Odwazny and Andy Jankowiak completing the top 5 finishers.

 Cricket Clonch had a Dandy Day on Saturday Night as he celebrate his first championship win in the Super Stocks. Terry Potrzebowski came up 5 points short, finishing 2nd with John Lane, Joe Lane and Chuck Nichols completing the top 5 finishers.

 Matt Pappa had a very dominating season winning all but 1 race for the INEX Legends and winning the season championship. Pappa also won the 2012 National Championship for the Legends division and announced he will be driving a Sportsman Modified owned by Brett Hearn in 2013. Brandon DeBrakeleer, Jimmy Zacharias, Raven Schrantz and Brandon Michael completed the top 5 finishers.

 Casey Pavlick was honored as the first ever Crate Sportsman Champion. Gene Purvis took top honors in the 4 Cylinders and Nick Morich won the INEX Bandoleros Championship.

 John White announced that the Chemung Speedrome will return to Friday Nights for the 2013 racing season. All Divisions are scheduled to return with special shows being planned for the ROC Modified Tour, Super Modifieds and XCEL 600 Modifieds.

 A special thanks is in order to John Lane for putting the banquet together and to John Flock, Jody Buckley and everyone else for the support.

 The 2013 Schedule of Events will be released in the near future. For more information, visit Chemung Speedrome and the NASCAR Whelen All American Series

 Short Track Racing At Itís Best!

Final Points:

 Sunoco Modifieds (Top 10) - T.J. Zacharias, Jimmy Zacharias, Matt Clemens, Mike Odwazny, Andy Jankowiak, Bob Mosher, Jody Buckley, Don King, Jr., Brittany Jack, Terry Zacharias.

 Super Stocks (Top 10) - Cricket Clonch, Terry Potrzebowski, John Lane, Joe Lane, Chuck Nichols, Derrick Tarbox, Cody Marshall, Hank Buchanan, Brittany Jack, Milton Price.

 Crate Sportsman (Top 3) - Casey Pavlick, Dale Welty, Chris Brockaway, Allison Pierce.

 4 Cylinders (Top 3) - Gene Purvis, Frank Morich, Bubba Peters.

 INEX Legends (Top 10) - Matt Pappa, Brandon DeBrakeleer, Jimmy Zacharias, Raven Schrantz, Brandon Michael, Alex Bowen, Todd McCallum, Anthony Riforgiato, Van Michael, Michael Moresca.

 INEX Bandoleros (Top 3) - Nick Morich, David French, Cody Jackson.

©2012 Chemung Speedrome