Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2012 News

August 26th, 2012
Jimmy Zacharias, John Lane, Matt Pappa, Casey Pavlick, Gene Purvis and Alex McCollum Win Season Championship Events at Chemung;
Jimmy Zacharias, Cricket Clonch, Pappa, Purvis, Nick Morich Win Track Titles
By: Steve Petty

  The Chemung Speedrome claimed their 2012 Track Titles on a beautiful Sunday afternoon in the Twin Tiers. In the Sunoco Modifieds, third generation driver Jimmy Zacharias from Candor, NY claimed the top prize after sweeping both Twin 25 features for the open-wheeled machines. Other winners at the ‘Drome included John Lane in the Super Stocks, Matt Pappa in the INEX Legends, Alex McCollum in the INEX Bandoleros, Gene Purvis in the 4 Cylinders and Casey Pavlick in the Crate DIRT Sportsman.

  TJ Zacharias and older brother Jimmy led the field to the green flag for the first of two twin 25’s for the SUNOCO Modifieds with Jimmy out into the early race lad. Jimmy would pull away from the field and would hold off Andy Jankowiak and Jody Buckley to claim the win, his 23rd total win of the year.

  Herman’s Hermit’s song “Henry the 8th I Am” had the verse “second verse same as the first”. That statement was said just before the second twin 25 feature event as it was once again the Zacharias brothers of TJ and Jimmy on the front row and Jimmy took off again on the field. Only a late race spin by Jody Buckley would slow the field down and nobody had anything for Jimmy as he would not only win his 24th victory of the year, but his third straight Chemung Speedrome Sunoco Modified Track championship.

  Cricket Clonch and John Lane led the field of Super Stocks to the green flag for their 20 lap feature event with Clonch leading the opening circuits. Brittany Jack worked her way through the field and would take over the lead on lap number six and would hold off John Lane to what would appear to be her second consecutive victory. However, Jack was found to be illegal in post race inspection. With his second place finish, Cricket Clonch would claim his first Chemung track title.

  Anthony Riforgiato and Cody Frantz were on the front row for the INEX Legends feature event with Riforgiato out to early race lead. After an early race caution, Matt Pappa would take over the lead and would be in “cruise control” as he went on to score the win and the INEX Legends track championship.

  Gene Purvis and Kyle Ferris led the field of 4 Cylinders to the green flag with Purvis out to the early race lead. Purvis and Frank Morich would dominate much of the event and Purvis would get the better hand of Morich as he won his fifth of the year and secured another Chemung title.

  Alex McCollum, Nick Morich and Teddy Bowen competed in the INEX Bandolero feature event with McCollum and Morich pulling away from Bowen in the 10 lap feature. McCollum would claim his first feature win of the 2012 season. Nick Morich would be crowned the 2012 Bandolero Champion.

  For more information log on to or call the speedway office at (607) 857-4843. All points calculated goes towards the overall NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Championship standings.

  Chemung Speedrome – Short Track Racing At It’s Best!


  SUNOCO MODIFIED #1 (25 Laps): JIMMY ZACHARIAS, Andy Jankowiak, Jody Buckley, Mike Odwazny, Bob Mosher, TJ Zacharias, Matt Clemens and Don King Jr
  SUNOCO MODIFIED #2 (25 laps): JIMMY ZACHARIAS, Andy Jankowiak, Don King Jr, Jody Buckley, Mike Odwazny, TJ Zacharias, Matt Clemens and Bob Mosher
  Heat Winner: Jimmy Zacharias

  SUPER STOCKS (20 Laps): JOHN LANE, Cricket Clonch, Joe Lane, Terry Potrzebowski, Chuck Nichols, Ron Richter, Bob “Rip” Ripley. DQ – Brittany Jack
  Heat Winner: John Lane, Cricket Clonch

  INEX LEGENDS (20 Laps): MATT PAPPA, Mark Nahrstedt, Jeremy Haudricourt, Brandon DeBrakeleer, Brett Coon, Alex Bowen, Alexandria Smith, Dalton Rombough, Anthony Riforgiato, Nick Robinson, Mike McDonald, Larry Faucett, Steve Gaul, Michael Maresca, Cody Frantz, Gary Ham, Todd McCollum DNS: Jimmy Zacharias
  Heat Winners: Matt Pappa, Brandon DeBrakeleer, Jeremy Haudricourt

  4 Cylinder Stocks (12 Laps): GENE PURVIS, Frank Morich, Kyle Ferris and Zack Curren
  Heat Winner: Gene Purvis

  Crate DIRT Sportsman (20 laps): CASEY PAVLIK, Dale Welty, Allison Pierce
  Heat Winner: Casey Pavlik

  Bandoleros (8 Laps): ALEX MCCOLLUM, Nick Morich, Teddy Bowen
  Heat Winner: Alex McCollum

©2012 Chemung Speedrome