Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2012 News

July 1st, 2012
Jody Buckley Earns Career 1st SUNOCO Mod Win at Chemung
By: Steve Petty

  Jody Buckley from Horseheads, NY passed Jimmy Zacharias just past the halfway mark and went on to win his first career SUNOCO Modified victory at the Chemung Speedrome on Independence Day Weekend. Other winners at the ‘Drome included Terry Potrzebowski in the Super Stocks, Frank Morich in the Mini Stocks, Dalton Rombough in the INEX Legends, Casey Pavlik in the Crate Sportsman and David French won his fourth straight win in the INEX Bandoleros.

  Andy Jankowiak and Jimmy Zacharias shared the front row for the 40 lap Sunoco Modified feature event and it was defending track champion Jimmy Zacharias out to the early race lead. Then Horseheads driver Jody Buckley moved up through the field and was running second to Zacharias for much of the 40 lap tilt. TJ Zacharias brought his 17 machine pitside on lap 15, ending a good run as TJ was shown in third at the time he went to the pit area. Buckley would get to the inside on the mid race restart to take the lead away from Jimmy Zacharias and would go on to pick up his first career open-wheeled Modified win at the Chemung Speedrome. Holland Points Leader Andy Jankowiak came home in second and East Aurora, NY driver Don King completed the top three.

  Hank Buchanan and Derrick Tarbox led the field of Super Stocks to the green flag for the 20 lap Super Stock feature event and it was Buchanan out to the early race lead. Buchanan pulled away for the lead for several laps until an incident in turn four involving John Lane and Brittany Jack.
The lap 14 restart saw Potrzebowski and Tarbox on the front row and Potrzebowski took the lead. Terry Potrzebowski would then hold off all competitors including a hard charging Lee Sharpsteen to pick up his second win in three weeks on the tough Southern Tier 3/8th’s oval.

  Andrew Bickford and AJ Griffin led the field of INEX Legends to the green flag and it was Bickford out to the early advantage. Gary Ham slowed the field down for the first time on lap two as he spun in turn two to bring out the caution. On the restart, contact was made as the leaders came together on the backstretch and John “Shakin”Bacon had no where to go and his Chemung Soft Water 76 flipped two times and landed on his side. Bacon climbed out of his car under his own power. Bickord, Griffin and Bacon were done for the day as was Barry Schrantz.

  The lap three restart would see Michael Maresca and Chuck Lohmeyer on the front row and Maresca would take the lead. Three laps later, Alex Bowen and Lohmeyer would make contact and both crashed into the turn four fence. Both were unable to continue the event. On the restart, it was Maresca and Jimmy Zacharias on the front row and it was Zacharias taking the lead away from Maresca in turn number one. The lead lasted only two laps as Dalton Rombough took over the lead. Rombough was able to hold off Zacharias to grab his first win at the Chemung Speedrome.

  Casey Pavlik and Loren Lincoln led the field of Crate Sportsman to the green flag for their feature event and it was Pavlik out to the early race lead. Heat winner Dale Welty moved into second as he passed Lincoln on lap three but cough it up just two laps later as Lincoln passed Welty for the runner up spot. Pavlik would lead from start to finish to pick his second win of the season at the ‘Drome. Loren Lincoln would finish second as Dale Welty and Brandon Martin rounded out the field.

  Teddy Bowen and David French led the field of Bandoleros to the green flag for their 10 lap feature event with French jumping out into the lead. French would lead from start to finish to pick up his fourth consecutive feature win.

  Frank Morich, last weeks feature winner Gene Purvis and Bubba Peters competed in the 15 lap feature for the 4 Cylinders and Morich led from start to finish and had stiff competition from Purvis as Purvis tried anything in his power to pass Morich but it was to no use as Morich would win his second feature of the year

 Racing action returns to the Chemung Speedrome on Sunday July 8th on Pack the Track Night. On Pack the Track Night, the price for Adult General Admission is just six dollars. The Chemung Speedrome is the Southern Tier’s NASCAR Race Place every Sunday afternoon starting at 2:15pm featuring the Sunoco Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mini Stocks, INEX Legends and INEX Bandoleros. Pit Gates open at 11:30AM and the grandstand gates open at 1:00pm. For more information log on to or call the speedway office at (607) 857-4843.

Chemung Speedrome – Short Track Racing At It’s Best!


  SUNOCO MODIFIEDS (40 Laps): JODY BUCKLEY, Andy Jankowiak, Don King, Matt Clemens, TJ Zacharias, Jimmy Zacharias, Bob Mosher, Ed Schueler, Mike Odwazny and Terry Zacharias
Heat Winners: Jody Buckley, Jimmy Zacharias

  CRATE SPORTSMAN (20 Laps): CASEY PAVLIK, Loren Lincoln, Dale Welty and Brandon Martin
Heat Winner: Dale Welty

  SUPER STOCKS (20 Laps): TERRY POTRZEBOWSKI, Lee Sharpsteen, Derrick Tarbox, Cricket Clonch, Joe Lane, Hank Buchanan, John Lane, Brittany Jack, Chuck Nichols, and Cody Marshall
Heat Winners: Brittany Jack, Terry Potrzebowski

  INEX LEGENDS (20 Laps): DALTON ROMBOUGH, Jimmy Zacharias, Michael Maresca, Taylor Doxtater, Nick Ledson, Tony RiForgito, Raven Schrantz, Gary Ham, Brandon Michael, Alex Bowen, Chuck Lohmeyer, Andrew Bickford, AJ Griffin, John “Shakin” Bacon, Barry Schrantz, Alexandria Smith and Cody Frantz
Heat Winners: Jimmy Zacharias, Chuck Lohmeyer, Raven Schrantz
**PLEASE NOTE: Legends finish is unofficial until review of score sheets**

  4 CYLINDER STOCKS (12 Laps): FRANK MORICH, Gene Purvis and Bubba Peters

  BANDOLEROS (10 Laps): DAVID FRENCH, Nick Morich, Teddy Bowen and Cody Jackson
Heat Winner: David French

©2012 Chemung Speedrome