Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2012 News

June 11th, 2012
Chemung Season Opener A Hot One
By: John Flock

  On a blistering Sunday afternoon, Chemung Speedrome finally opened their 2012 season. The fans, like the racers in the pit area, set up their own shade and sat back for the racing events.

  The Sunoco Modifieds took to the track in smaller numbers than expected. An early race jingle found the Sunoco Modifieds scattering and left Brittney Jack as the victim of other drivers’ exuberance. Jimmy Zacharias would earn the feature event checkers.

  John Lane earned his way to victory in the Super Stock field.

  The field of Super Stocks was much higher than last year’s count.

  Veteran racer Frank Morich took the Mini-stock feature event.

  Youngster David French bested a field of five Bandolaros, while Matt Papa won both halves of the Legends twin 15 lap events. Mike Arcaro fought his way to second spot in the first event, but did not answer a call in the second.

  Approximately 25 Legends racers were on hand.

  The ambulance squad was called to the track to check on drivers. All were checked and released at the track.

  Asphalt racing will continue on the Chemung county oval on Sunday afternoons. Post time is 2:15 p.m. The web site is, phone (607) 857-4843 on race day.

  Chemung Speedrome, June 10, 2012 - Race Summary

  SUNOCO MODIFIEDS: (35 Laps): JIMMY ZACHARIAS, TJ Zacharias, Matt Clemens, Mike Odwazny, Zach Curren, Bob Mosher, Brittany Jack

  SUPER STOCKS: (20 Laps): JOHN LANE, Terry Potzrebowski, Jody Buckley, Cricket Clonch, Jim House, Derrick Tarbox, Brittany Jack, Milton Price, Chuck Nichols, Cody Marshall, Joseph Lane.

  INEX LEGENDS #1: (15 Laps): MATT PAPPA, Mike Alcaro, Brandon DeBrakeler, Jimmy Zacharias, Raven Schrantz, Chuck Lohmeyer, Van Michael, Brandon Michael, John "Shakin" Bacon" Michael Maresca, AJ Griffin, Cody Frantz, Russell Sniffen, Gary Ham, Thomas Baker, Alex Bowen, Andrew Bickford, Barry Schrantz, Matt Evans, Jason Townsend

  INEX LEGENDS #2: (15 Laps): MATT PAPPA, Brandon DeBrakeler, Jimmy Zacharias, Raven Schrantz, Brandon Michael, Michael Maresca, Cody Frantz, Chuck Lohmeyer, Thomas Baker, John "Shaken" Bacon, Alex Bowen, Matt Evans, Barry Schrantz, AJ Griffin, Russell Sniffen, Gary Ham, Mike Alcaro (DNS), Jason Townsend (DNS)


  INEX BANDOLEROS (10 Laps); DAVID FRENCH, Max Evans, Nick Morich, Cody Jackson, Teddy Bowen.

©2012 Chemung Speedrome