Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2011 PR

July 22nd, 2011
JR Kent, Jeff Goodwin, and Matt Pappa get first wins of 2011 at The Chemung Speedrome By: Daryl Canfield

The Chemung Speedrome hosted 5 divisions of racing action on Friday July 22nd and the found some new winners in victory lane. The Bandoleros were first to take center stage at the ‘Drome. David French and Alexandria Smith continue to improve and had a great battle for the runner-up spot, but Anthony Reforgiato was once again victorious getting win number 5 of 2011. French captured 2nd, with Smith 3rd, and Nick Morich 4th.

The INEX Legends were next onto the speedway and had some new faces that would be strong competition. The early lead was swapped around and first time visitor Matt Pappa took the point on lap 3 from Van Michael. Mike Alcaro was making his way to the front and took over the 2nd spot on lap 6. The first caution flew on lap 11 as Justin Petkosky spun in turn 1. Alcaro applied heavy pressure and took the lead away on lap 13, but Pappa retook the lead on lap 15. Raven Schrantz and Cody Frantz made contact and spun on lap 16 to bring out the yellow flag. When the action continued, Pappa was too much for Alcaro and went on for the win. Alcaro came home 2nd, Stephen Hershey charged to 3rd, Carl Vilardo 4th, and Van Michael rounded out the top 5.

The Super Stocks were next to spring into action and put the fans onto the edge of their seats. John Lane and Jeff Goodwin brought the field to green and battled wheel to wheel. Lane and Goodwin were racing hard and clean, but on lap 2, Mike Nichols tried to pull off a 3-wide pass on the inside, only to come up short. Nichols made contact, spinning Lane to the high side and Nichols spinning into the infield bringing out the caution flag. Lane would lead the next several laps, but Goodwin made his move, and took the lead on lap 12. Goodwin went on for his first win of 2011, followed by Lane, Brittney Jack, and Mike Nichols.

The Four Cylinders, led by Phil Haner and Gene Purvis were ready to roll. Third place starter Tony Gullo quickly made his move and went 3-wide to capture the early lead. Brandon Ameigh also applied early pressure and took over second on lap 4. Gullo and Ameigh checked out and finished one, two, with Phil Haner 3rd, Gene Purvis 4th, and Nick Haner completing the top 5. Gullo and Ameigh failed to go directly to tech after the race and were DQ’d giving the win to Phil Haner.

The Sunoco Modifieds were last to get into action. Curtis Cowles and JR Kent made up the front row as the green flag flew. Kent took the early lead with Jimmy Zacharias in tow. Cowles held on to third until lap 10 when Jody Buckley and Zack Curren advanced their positions. Curren worked Buckley over for third and made the pass on lap 27 while the leaders were setting up for a great dual. Zacharias shot into the lead on lap 28, but Kent wasn’t done yet, and retook the top spot on lap 29. Kent held on the rest of the way for his first win of 2011, Zacharias was in for 2nd, Curren 3rd, Buckley 4th, and Cowles in 5th.
The Chemung Speedrome will be back in action this Friday night at 7:15pm with Sunoco Modified (40), Super Stocks (20), 4 Cylinders (20), INEX Legends (20), and Bandoleros (8). For information be sure to visit

Make your way to the ‘Drome this Friday night for some great racing action and make plans for the upcoming ROC Modified tour on August 12th.

Bandoleros: ANTHONY REFORGIATO, David French, Alexandria Smith, Nick Morich

INEX Legends: MATT PAPPA, Mike Alcaro, Stephen Hershey, Carl Vilardo, Van Michael, Andrew Stotler, Rich Vanderpool, Brandon Michael, Justin Petkosky, Raven Schrantz, John Bacon, Cody Frantz, AJ Griffin, Joseph DeGracia, Barry Schrantz, Thomas Baker

Super Stocks: JEFF GOODWIN, John Lane, Brittnay Jack, Mike Nichols

4 Cylinders: TONY GULLO, Brandon Ameigh, Gene Purvis, Nick Haner, Frank Morich, Joe Lane, Kyle Ferris, Dayton Cote (DNS)

Sunoco Modifieds: JR KENT, Jimmy Zacharias, Zack Curren, Jody Buckley, Curtis Cowles, Brittnay Jack

©2010 Chemung Speedrome