Chemung Speedrome - Chemung, New York

Contact Track Owners
Bob Stapleton 
@ (607)857-4843 cell or 
John White
@ (631)745-9805

Chemung Speedrome 2011 PR

June 25th, 2011
Scherer, Nichols, Haner, Alcaro claim Chemung Speedrome victories - By: Daryl Canfield

The Chemung Speedrome avoided threatening skies and storms in the area and completed a full night of racing action on Friday June 24th.

The INEX Legends were first to storm onto the track for battle. Rich Vanderpool and Beth Scherer would lead the field to green. Vanderpool took the early lead and held it until Daren Scherer overtook him on lap 6. Scherer’s lead would be short lived as INEX Legends star Mike Alcaro claimed the lead by lap 10. The race never slowed for caution as they went green to checker with Alcaro taking the win, Scherer in for second, followed by AJ Griffin, Vanderpool, and Brandon DeBrakeleer rounding out the top 5.

The 4 Cylinders were next to jump into action at the ‘Drome. Phil Haner and Tony Gullo would make up the front row and bring the field to green. Haner and Gullo battled door to door until caution flew on lap 3 for a spin off turn 2 by Frank Morich. On the lap 3 restart, Archie Haner advanced the #99 into the 2nd spot with Gullo holding the lead. Caution flew again at lap 9 for a spin by Nick Haner and Dayton Cote. Archie Haner made his move on the restart and took the lead away from Gullo. Haner led the remainder of the event and took the win, Gullo came home second, Gene Purvis third, Phil Haner fourth, and Frank Morich in fifth.

The Sunoco Modifieds were all buckled up and set do to battle in a 40 lap feature event. Jody Buckley had the pole position with Daren Scherer to the outside. Scherer would move out into the early lead with JR Kent moving into 2nd. Rusty Smith and Lee Sharpsteen were having a spirited battle for 5th place until caution flew for fluid leaking from the #72 machine of TJ Potrzebowski. Sharpsteen’s night would end shortly after the restart at lap 7 after contact with TJ Potrzebowski sent Sharpsteen hard into the fourth turn wall. Scherer continued to lead after the restart until the caution flag flew again at lap 10 for a spin by Jody Buckley. Rusty Smith would try to make his move after the restart and dove to the inside of Scherer for the lead but would slip and fall to 5th. Scherer and Kent continued out front with Jimmy Zacharias starting to put heavy pressure on Kent for second. Laps would run out and Scherer held on for his first Sunoco Modified feature win of 2011. Jr Kent finished second, followed by Jimmy Zacharias, TJ Potrzebowski, and Rusty Smith closing out the top 5.

The Super Stocks closed out the night’s racing action after a wild heat race earlier in the night, with a multi-car accident after the checkered flag would damage several cars. Speedrome officials would move around the night’s order of events to allow Super Stock teams to try to make repairs. Jeremy Potrzebowski was still unable to make the start of the feature. Jeff Goodwin led the field to green with previous winners Mike Nichols and Terry Potrzebowski ready to battle. Nichols would overtake Goodwin at lap 5 for the lead and began to pull away. The first caution flag flew at lap 12 after Goodwin made contact sending Potrzebowski spinning in the 72 machine. Nichols would go unchallenged for the victory, Potrzebowski recovered for second, John Lane took home third, with Goodwin and Terry Ostrander rounding out the top 5.

The Chemung Speedrome will be back in action this Friday night July 1st with racing action set to begin at 7:15pm. Sunoco Modifieds, Super Stocks, 4 Cylinders, INEX Legends, and Bandoleros will all be ready to put you on the edge of your seat. Be sure to check out for all the up to date information and point standings. Hope to see you all this Friday night at the ‘Drome!


Legends: MIKE ALCARO, Daren Scherer, AJ Griffin, Rich Vanderpool, Brandon DeBrakeleer, Brett Coon, Carl Vilardo, Van Michael, Beth Scherer, Andrew Stotler, Raven Schrants, Joseph DeGracia, Cory Mosher, Alex Bowen, John Bacon, Barry Schrantz

4 Cylinders: ARCHIE HANER, Tony Gullo, Gene Purvis, Phil Haner, Frank Morich, Joe Lane, Nick Haner, Dayton Cote, Kyle Ferris

Super Stocks: MIKE NICHOLS, Terry Potrzebowski, John Lane, Jeff Goodwin, Terry Ostrander, Jeremy Potrzebowski (DNS)

Sunoco Modifieds: DAREN SCHERER, JR Kent, Jimmy Zacharias, TJ Potrzebowski, Rusty Smith, Zack Curren, Jody Buckley, Curtis Cowles, Mike Nichols, Lee Sharpsteen, Milton Price, Brandon Ameigh (DNS)

©2010 Chemung Speedrome